The very first person you met when you entered this world was your mother. They say that there is no love to compare with a mom’s unconditional love for her child. However, a Memphis TV station reports that at least one mother out there might not always have her son’s best interests at heart.
Fox 13 reports that a Pennsylvania mom recently admitted to police that she put her son behind the wheel of a car before calling state police. The 20-year-old was then arrested by law enforcement for DUI.
He had reportedly passed out after getting high on synthetic marijuana, the TV station reported.
During a preliminary hearing on his DUI case, the mom acknowledged that she had put her son in the vehicle and started it up before she called police. She is now facing legal problems that include a charge of reckless endangerment and filing a false report.
The station did not report whether or not the woman’s son’s DUI has been dropped.
Here in Tennessee, the woman’s actions could result in serious repercussions for her offspring. A first DUI can result in the following penalties:
- A jail sentence of from 48 hours to 11 months and 29 days
- Revocation of driver’s license for up to a year
- A fine of up to $1,500
- Additional fees that include court costs, mandatory alcohol and drug treatment, towing, license reinstatement fees and restitution to anyone injured
- Mandated installation (at your expense) of an ignition interlock device
The mother in this case might have wanted to teach her son a lesson, but she clearly went about it in the wrong way. Hopefully, she has herself learned something from her misguided actions.
If you face a Memphis DUI, contact a criminal defense lawyer who understands the law and Shelby County courts.