We have seen it here in Memphis and we have seen reports of it happening elsewhere in Tennessee: police officers who are sworn to uphold the law being charged with criminal offenses. The latest example is a veteran Chattanooga cop who has been arrested for driving under the influence.
The lieutenant was pulled over by a Tennessee Highway Patrol (THP) officer after he was reportedly spotted driving more than 20 miles per hour over the posted speed limit.
According to a news report, the lieutenant was driving at 67 mph in a 45-mph zone as his vehicle swerved across the street’s yellow center line. When he was pulled over by the state trooper, he reportedly had slurred speech, bloodshot eyes and a strong odor of alcohol.
He apparently performed a roadside sobriety test before he was arrested.
The nearly 20-year police veteran was off-duty at the time.
With his long service on the police force, he undoubtedly knows the harsh sanctions that can be imposed after a first DUI offense:
- Jail: from 48 hours up to a year
- Driver’s license revocation: for up to a year
- Fine: from $350 up to $1,500
- Ignition interlock device: required installation in your vehicle at your expense
- Treatment: mandated participation in an alcohol and drug treatment program
A second DUI offense can mean your driver’s license can be revoked for up to two years and your vehicle is subject to possible confiscation law enforcement officials.
An experienced Memphis criminal defense attorney can protect your rights at every step of the process and fight to preserve your freedom and driving privileges.