Effective Memphis Attorney Assists Drivers with Traffic Violations

Experienced legal help for clients in Shelby County and surrounding areas of Tennessee

Traffic offenses can add points to your license, cost you money and, in some circumstances, even put you in jail. As an experienced traffic violations defense lawyer at the Memphis firm of Jack P. Sherman, Attorney At Law, established in 2006, I assist individuals facing all types of traffic citations, from speeding tickets to arrests for driving under the influence. My Tennessee law firm is pleased to represent drivers in Shelby County and surrounding regions.  

Citations for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs

The penalties you face if you are found guilty of a DUI are severe. For a first-time offense, you could spend up to 11 months in jail, pay a fine of up to $1,500, have your licensed revoked for one year and suffer other penalties. I may be able to get your DUI charge reduced to a reckless driving violation, depending upon your blood-alcohol content at the time and other relevant factors. In some instances, I may be able to have the DUI charge dismissed if it can be shown that the police officer did not properly administer the field sobriety test or there was a problem with the breathalyzer.

Speeding violations and other traffic tickets

Speeding tickets can add from 1-8 points to your license depending on how fast you were going. If you accumulate 12 points on your license in a 12-month period in Tennessee, your license could potentially be suspended if you fail to attend traffic school. Other traffic violations can also add significant points to your license. I can assist you in fighting your speeding tickets or other traffic tickets. My law firm handles defenses for all types of traffic violations.

Hit-and-run accidents

You have a duty to stop when you are in an accident. If you don’t, you may be charged with a hit-and-run. This is a serious charge with potentially severe penalties, depending upon whether someone was injured, killed or only vehicle damage occurred. My law firm will help you understand the possible consequences if you are accused of a hit-and-run accident and advocate for a fair result.

License and registration issues

In Tennessee, driving with a revoked or suspended license can get you up to six months in jail and up to a $500 fine, or up to $1,000 if the suspension was DUI-related. If you are guilty of driving without your license on you or simply don’t have one, you could spend up to 30 days in jail and pay up to a $50 fine. If your car registration tags are expired, you could be fined or have your vehicle impounded. You can also be penalized for driving without car insurance. I will advise you about your rights in these cases.  

Contact a skilled defense attorney in Tennessee for help with your traffic violation

Jack P. Sherman, Attorney At Law in Memphis, has over 20 years of legal experience helping Tennessee drivers in the Shelby County area fight DUI charges and other traffic citations. To schedule a free consultation, call my firm at 901-233-3474 or contact me online